The judges convened on Monday to finalise the 16 participants for the Open Fanfare program in Brisbane, a partnership with the Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC) and the Queensland Youth Orchestras (QYOs). The composers will workshop their pieces with mentors Nicholas Vines, Lyle Chan, Nicole Murphy, Chrysoulla Markoulli and Alexander Voltz; and attend a concert later in the year at QPAC by the QYOs and conductor Peter Morris. The selected 16 are:

Andrew Udal (Qld) Age 16.  A Call from space
Ayda Akbal (Vic) Age 18. Traffic
Ben (Wenhao) Fan (NSW) Age 18. Flight Dream
Courtney Cousins (NSW) Age 20. Showtime!
Danny McNeall (NSW) Age 19. Fanfare from the Golden Age (of Hollywood)
Eamon Roche (NSW) Age 19. Constant and Equivalent
Finn Brunning (SA) Age 21. Frames of Fanfare
George Teasdell (NSW) Age 17. The Overground Underture
Hannah Hunt (Vic) Age 19. Star Celebration
Hayden Taylor (Vic) Age 16.  20th Century Blast
Jasper Tops (NSW) Age 13. Taming the Dragon
Katia Geha (NSW) Age 18. Sacapuntas
Lucy Bremner (VIC) Age 13. A Trumpeter’s Delight
Matthew Cornwell (NSW) Age 20. Exaltation
Tiffany Yeo (QLD) Age 15. Fanfare Grandioso
William Dooley (ACT) Age 14. Awakening


Thank you to the Open Fanfare judges: Artology mentor composers Nicholas Vines and Lyle Chan; Katie Woods (QPAC); Geoff Rosbrook (QYOs) and guest QYO conductor Peter Morris.

© Copyright Artology Ltd. 2023 ABN: 14 154 243 204